Southwest Tennessee Community College Southwest Tennessee Community College Southwest Tennessee Community College Southwest Tennessee Community College Make your destination SOUTHWEST!
Admissions, Records & Recruitment: getting started, catalogs, registration information, transcripts, and more...Current Credit and Continuing Education course schedules.Our Distance Education Program includes Online Courses, Telecourses, Interactive Television & Teleconferencing.Information about Southwest Campuses, Centers & Sites.Find out more about Student Activities, Student Government & Student Clubs.
Southwest Tennessee Community College  
About SouthwestAbout Southwest
AcademicsAcademics
AthleticsAthletics
Alumni News & ScholarshipsAlumni
Tuition, Fees, & Online PaymentBursar's Office
1 & 2 Day Computer Seminars at the CRC!Computer Seminars
Continuing EducationContinuing Education
Campus Events & NewsEvents & News
Financial AidFinancial Aid
HR/Jobs @ SouthwestJobs @ Southwest
Southwest LibraryLibrary
Student Information & ServicesStudent Info. & Services
Support SouthwestSupport Southwest
Workforce Development Center @ SouthwestWorkforce Dev. Center
Southwest Tennessee Community College

My.Southwest

Southwest Tennessee Community College

Officially Charted Student Clubs

There are a variety of clubs available to all students. These include honors and leadership organizations, academic-related organizations, and special interest groups (political, religious, etc.). All students are encouraged to participate in clubs and organizations. 

  • Alpha Beta Gamma (ABG)
    Patsy Fancher pfancher@southwest.tn.edu
    Alpha Beta Gamma® is an international business honor society established in 1970 to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students in business curricula. To achieve this goal, Alpha Beta Gamma® provides leadership opportunities, forums for the exchange of ideas and the stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.
     
  • American Institute of Architectural Students (AIAS)
    Geoffrey Wood gwood@southwest.tn.edu
    The purpose of the club is to develop an understanding of the design process, the nature of building materials, and the role and the relationship of the architect, engineer, owner and contractor.
     
  • Baptist Student Union (BSU)
    Dwight Campbell dcampbell@southwest.tn.edu
    The Baptist Student Union operates through the National Student Ministries in Nashville, TN. The purpose is to provide fellowship of College students seeking to find and implement God's purpose for them and their world. BSU is a program that provides opportunity for an inward journey of spiritual growth and an outward journey of service to others.
     
  • Black Students Association
    Dr. Lovberta Cross lcross@southwest.tn.edu

    The purpose of this association is to provide a framework for meaningful student involvement in the governance and activities of Southwest and to stimulate student and college interest in Black Awareness.
     
  • Cheerleaders
    Phoenix Worthy pworthy@southwest.tn.edu 
    The purpose of the Cheerleading Squad is to bring more support to Southwest games and activities; to encourage and exhibit good sportsmanship; and to represent the faculty and student body in every scheduled athletic activity.
     
  • Hispanic/Latino Society
    Stacey Johnson smjohnson4@southwest.tn.edu 
    Pat Ward pward@southwest.tn.edu
    Willie Clark wclark@southwest.tn.edu

    To establish a platform that unites Hispanic/Latino students and other cultures through enlightenment, empowerment, networking, and serving the Hispanic/Latino community by reinforcing relations to Southwest. The club will create cultural awareness and recognize the contributions of Hispanic/Latino students committed to the development and progress of the Hispanic/Latino culture.
     
  • Hospitality Management Society (HM)
    Steven Leake sleake@southwest.tn.edu

    The Hospitality Management Society is a professional organization of students majoring in Hospitality Management or other fields with an interest in pursuing a career in Food and Beverage Management, Lodging Management, Culinary Arts or Travel and Tourism. The aims and objectives are to foster the individual welfare of its members and advance the theory and practice of scientific management wherever it may apply.
     
  • Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE)
    Harry Nichols hnichols@southwest.tn.edu

    The Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers is an organization whose purpose is to promote knowledge of the theory and practice of all aspects of electrical engineering, electronics, radio and all allied branches of engineering.
     
  • International Association of Administrative Professionals (IAAP)
    Joy Kinard jkinard@southwest.tn.edu

    Bobbie Hawkins bhawkins@southwest.tn.edu
    The objectives of the IAAP is to assist career-oriented business students in developing a better understanding of secretarial professions and the business world; to stimulate interest in and provide insight regarding lifetime careers and advancement opportunities as administrative support personnel; to promote the exchange of ideas and experiences and a spirit of fellowship among business students with similar career interests; to provide opportunities for interaction among students, educators, and business professionals; and to provide an opportunity for teacher trainees in the business education area to expand their understanding of the secretarial profession.
     
  • International Student Club (ISC)
    Debbie Hunt dhunt@southwest.tn.edu

    The Southwest Tennessee Community College International Student Club is open to all international students and alumni and any American students interested in international affairs and people. The purpose of this club is to promote and support the international students at Southwest Tennessee Community College and to provide entertainment and a social life for members of the club.
     
  • The College Chapter of the NAACP
    Cynthia Calhoun ccalhoun@southwest.tn.edu 
    Jerry Redmond jredmond@southwest.tn.edu

    The purpose and aims of the Southwest Tennessee Community College at Memphis Chapter of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People shall be to improve the political, educational, social and economic status of minority groups; to eliminate racial prejudice; to keep the public aware of the adverse effects of racial discrimination; and to take all lawful action to secure its elimination, consistent with the efforts of the national organization and in conformity with the Articles of Incorporation of the Association, its Constitution and By-Laws and as directed by the National Board of Directors.
     
  • Phi Theta Kappa (PTK)
    Twyla Waters twaters@southwest.tn.edu 
    Joe Thweatt jthweatt@southwest.tn.edu
    Cecil Coone ccoone@southwest.tn.edu 

    PHI THETA KAPPA is a national honor society for two-year Colleges. Founded in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa has over 1,200 chapters. The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa is the recognition and encouragement of scholarship among community college students. Phi Theta Kappa provides opportunity for the development of leadership and service for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals for lively fellowship for scholars and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.
    * Invitations to membership in the Southwest chapter, Upsilon Delta, are extended to all students at the College who have accumulated 12 or more credits toward a degree with a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher.
     
  • Pierian Society
    Ada Shotwell ashotwell@southwest.tn.edu
    Thad Cockrill tcockrill@southwest.tn.edu
    Douglas Branch dbranch@southwest.tn.edu
    The purpose of the Pierian Society is to give students an outlet for creative expression and to present speakers and other activities that will foster intellectual growth.
     
  • PREP Alumni Group
    Miki Craft mcraft@southwest.tn.edu
     
    The PREP Alumni Group serves as a support group for all individuals who have completed the PREP program at Southwest. The group provides family activities, counseling services, textbooks (if available) and referral services. Membership is open to any individual who has completed the PREP program.
     
  • Ragtime Players
    Ron Gephardt rgephatdt@southwest.tn.edu
     
    The purpose of the Players is to operate exclusively for the public, charitable and educational performances. They are to produce entertainment for the public at a minimum charge and conduct adjunct social activities which will benefit the individual in pursuit of theater excellence or the public appreciation of the arts.
     
  • Science Club
    Joyce Johnson jdjohnson7@southwest.tn.edu 

    The purpose of this organization is to aid in the social adjustment and maturation of students; to attract, direct and motivate more students into the field of science; to make biological science a personal and educational experience; to help create and share new ideas and innovations in the field of science; to broaden the understanding of biological concepts to include the ecological environment; to provide the student with an environment which will permit the student to test a wide range of ideas; and to emphasize the unity of life.
     
  • Sigma Theta Phi (STP)
    Lillie Lewis llewis@southwest.tn.edu 
    Sigma Theta Phi's purpose is to promote student development, recruitment and retention of students in all areas and levels of technical education, and community involvement. A GPA of 2.0 is required for membership.
     
  • Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME)
    Geoffrey Wood gwood@southwest.tn.edu

    The purpose of SME is the advancement of scientific knowledge in the field of manufacturing. The members of SME are dedicated to providing the means and the methods of applying this knowledge in practice and education. Among other things, SME promotes and engages actively in research, writing, publishing and disseminating knowledge within this field.
     
  • Southwest Horticulture Club (SWHC)
    Vicki Armstrong varmstrong@southwest.tn.edu
     
    The Southwest Horticulture Club is a professional organization of students majoring in Landscape and Turfgrass Management or other fields with an interest in pursuing a career in horticulture.
     
  • Southwest Tennessee Gospel Choir
    Charles Pender cpender@southwest.tn.edu
     
    The purpose and objectives of the Gospel Choir are to promote member involvement, to provide social, organizational, and educational extension of the music program, and to become an effective recruiting and retention instrument of the College.
     
  • Student Dietetic Association
    Megan Murphy mmurphy@southwest.tn.edu
     
    The purpose of the Dietetic Association is to provide a framework for meaningful student involvement and to stimulate interest in the profession of dietetics. The objectives are to acquaint students with all aspects of dietetics; to broaden the scope of educational experiences through varied nutrition related activities; to provide sound nutrition information to the community and to stimulate sound nutrition practices among peers.
     
  • Student Government Association (SGA)
    Phoenix Worthy pworthy@southwest.tn.edu
    Pam Powell  or ppowell@southwest.tn.edu 

    The Student Government Association’s purpose and objective is to unify the general student body; to be the representative voice of the student body; to be the liaison between the student body and the administration, faculty, and staff; to experience the democratic process; to encourage and promote student involvement in all student interested programs and activities; and to ensure student input and representation on all College-wide Standing Committees that affect the student body. The SGA’s responsibility to the students and the College is to initiate school spirit, motivate ideas, encourage quality citizenship, promote student welfare, and assure the rights and privileges of the students and to communicate openly with the administration, faculty and staff of Southwest.
     
  • Student Newspaper – The Southwest Source
    Pam Powell ppowell@southwest.tn.edu 
    The Southwest Source, the official College newspaper, is edited and published by the students during the fall and spring semesters. Involved students acquire experience in all aspects of journalism, writing, editing, layout and photography.
     
  • Student Nursing Government Association
    Carolyn Brown csbrown@southwest.tn.edu

    The purposes and objectives of the Student Nursing Association are to unify the nursing student body; to be the representative voice of the nursing student body; serve as a means by which the nursing student needs, concerns and opinions are expressed; and to encourage and promote nursing student involvement in all nursing student interest programs and activities.
     
  • United Christian Association
    Dwight Campbell dcampbell@southwest.tn.edu
     
    The purpose of the association is to provide a means for spiritual growth through Christian fellowship on campus.

Home ] Alpha Beta Gamma ] American Institute of Architectural Students ] Baptist Student Union ] Hospitality Management Society ] International Association Of Administrative Professionals ] Institute of Electrical & Electronic Engineers ] International Student Club ] NAACP ] Pierian Society ] PREP Alumni Group ] Phi Theta Kappa ] Society of Manufacturing Engineers ] Sigma Theta Phi ] United Cristian Asso ]

 

  Search webpages Search people Search Web Pages & PeopleSouthwest Tennessee Community CollegeSouthwest Tennessee Community College 
 

Maintained by webmaster@southwest.tn.edu  *  Copyright 2000 © Southwest Tennessee Community College
 Site Disclaimer, Institutional Copyright Notice, & Digital Millennium Copyright Act
Southwest is a Tennessee Board of Regents Institution